Carina Round Live in Silverlake!

I first heard of Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist, Carina Round, in Rolling Stone back in 2003 when her debut album was released. I took note of her since they compared her to one of my favorite musicians, PJ Harvey. Fast forward a few years later, I meet my dear friend, Eva, at a Tori Amos concert, who is a huge Carina fan & even went as far to pay the kick-ass artist herself to play acoustic at her birthday party! Since that awesome par-tay, I have been trying to catch Carina, also quite known for working with Puscifer, Maynard James Keenan’s (Tool, A Perfect Circle) current act, play with her band & after much trial & error with missing gigs, I finally saw her last night at The Satellite in uber-chic/hipster playpen, Silverlake. She did not disappoint AT ALL! I thought she was fabulous at a house party with dogs running around her, let alone all plugged in & on fire on stage like a monster. She is not afraid to let loose, allowing her songs to completely overtake her. Carina is a miniature powerhouse in the disguise of a beautiful british lass. Her stage presence takes over the second she is there.

Highlight of the set list for me was most definitely the melancholy look-back at life & those who have slipped away from you in Backseat. “Do I lay/in the backseat of your mind?” she asks, “Just an imprint/Then we’re done” she sings. Up until that point, I was feeling all tough & mighty, then that song melted me. I luckily was able to record some of it, which you should check out on my YouTube here

I am so glad I finally made it out to see her…but, do have one question: When can I again?!;) xo


(Photograph by Eva Crowder)

About Along Comes Mary

Book Worm, Internet Nerd, Blogger, Daughter, Friend, Caffeine Addict, Non Smoker who sometimes smokes, Lover, Fighter, Ear with Feet, In Search of Bunbury, Gluten Free Pescatarian. Enough about me, what about YOU?;-)
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

