A Visit to France for a Monday Happy Hour!

006With Along Comes Mary turning 1-year-old this week, I think its pretty awesome some of the opportunities that I have been able to share with my readers recently….like, trying french cuisine for the first time at Dominique’s Kitchen in Redondo Beach this week. This is an absolute gem of a new restaurant nestled on the famous Pacific Coast Highway just minutes from the ocean & pier. Walking in, you truly feel transformed as this is an intimate bistro, having the tables close & cozy to one another & the warm atmosphere makes you feel right at home.

The choices have something for everyone on their happy hour menu, available each 046Monday from 4p-6p. The price is right & you will find wines as well as sangria & beers (like Stella Artois & Fat Tire) along with hearty appetizers like garlic fries served with mayo, salami & cheese plates, soups & escargot….more on that later! 😉

My friend, Harmony, had a delicious glass of Chardonnay that was light with flower notes, while I tried the Avalon Cabernet Sauvignon, which is one of the best reds I have had in a 002while. It was filled with notes of berries, as well as a hint of vanilla. Our waiter, Casey, started us off with complimentary olives, brie, white beans & arugula. While I am not usually a fan of brie cheese, this was more enjoyable for me than others I have tried. Casey was super helpful at recommending plates & wines to us, first selling us on the soup of the day, which was mixed greens, an incredibly flavorful, looking to be pea soup, yet has asparagus kale & collard greens, as well. 001

I also had the cheese & fruit plate, which was excellent & went perfectly with my wine. The plate also included walnuts, dried cranberries & apricots. Next up, since we were feeling very adventurous….& with some encouragement from Casey, we did indeed order the escargot…translation: baked snails with garlic butter. It was one of the most unusually delicious foods I have tried in awhile….if you like mussels or oysters, I bet you would enjoy escargot. The garlic butter was everything that I imagine french food to be: extra rich & creamy.
If 004you’re in the LA area, Dominique’s is the bistro to have this dish at. Prior to venturing out on his own, Dominique himself was a chef at the great Taix Restaurant in LA….& funny enough, I have been there also, with Harmony!

Although dessert sounded very tempting, we were full but will definitely be returning to try that & more very soon.

Dominique’s Kitchen is open 4p-9p/10p Friday & Saturday, & closed on Tuesdays. They are at 522 S. Pacific Coast Highway in Redondo Beach. Reservations are recommended, you can reach them at 424-247-9054.

(*Disclosure: Special thanks to Dominique’s Kitchen for having me to review them. I was provided with complimentary menu items & all opinions are my own)

About Along Comes Mary

Book Worm, Internet Nerd, Blogger, Daughter, Friend, Caffeine Addict, Non Smoker who sometimes smokes, Lover, Fighter, Ear with Feet, In Search of Bunbury, Gluten Free Pescatarian. Enough about me, what about YOU?;-)
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Visit to France for a Monday Happy Hour!

  1. I’ve never had escargot, it looks delicious though and the garlic butter sounds amazing!

  2. THE CHEESE AND FRUIT LOOKS DELICIOUS!

  3. I love French cuisine, but I just still can’t do the snails. Lol. I love the herbs butter though. We got to try French cuisine a few times while we lived in Germany and again on a trip to Paris. It was amazing!

  4. I can do the wine (I love wine), plus Brie is one of my favorite cheeses….but I’d draw the line at escargot…yuck!

  5. Oh I love French food and love restaurant reviews! Going to have to check this place out. Happy Blogversary to you! 🙂

  6. Having visited France a few time I can say I am in love with french food. Escargot is a dish I was reticent to try and it turned out I loved it. This restaurant sound delightful and one I know I would enjoy. 🙂

    • All I could think of was the famous I Love Lucy, where shes a a cafe in Paris & says, “Waiter! this food has snails in it!” then she goes onto use the utensil on her nose!! Luckily, we were much more professional about trying this 😉

  7. Oh, how lovely! I am a total sucker for a cheese plate! Eric and I are always trying to recreate them at home:)

Leave a comment